Our group met yesterday in class to solidify our research goals. We decided to pursue the idea I first suggested in this blog, interviewing Sarah Kirby to find out what goes into opening a new farmer's market. A behind the scenes look, if you will. We also decided that it would be helpful to think of our audience as people living in an area without access to a farmer's market who want to know more about starting one. This could lead to a simply informative project, or it could drift into the realm of persuading people to shop at farmer's markets. This is where we will let the research lead us.

Today, I will attempt to contact Sarah Kirby to set up a date for an interview. My group members have already come up with some good questions (here and here) in addition to the ones I posted here.

The other thing we decided was to present our findings in a documentary format. While I have the necessary equiptment, I would love to be able to use a better camera. Rowan's Campus Movie Fest is next week, which could help us to that end. The program allows students to borrow cameras and laptops to make short films to enter in a competition. While they require that entries be less than five minutes, we could create one version from our raw footage to enter in the competition. Alternatively, I have a friend who owns a DSLR video camera that shoots beautiful images. I am waiting to hear back to see if he would be interested in helping us shoot.



Leave a Reply.